@@"Vowing to save the sentient beings from suffering rather than seeking personal happiness" is the code of conduct for the Venerable Master Hai Tao. The Venerable Master Hai Tao is the founder of Compassion for Life Organization. He first became a monk in 1993 after visiting Huei-Rhi Lecture Hall in Taipei; an experience in which he was touched by the Buddha statue's low brows and gracious eyes"; as well as the relaxing manner of the monks. Upon deeper studying of Buddha Dharma he really appreciated the profound Buddhist philosophy on life. The ideals of the humanistic school of Buddhism of Master Yin-Shun is also a source of great inspiration and the reason for Venerable Hai Tao turning monk.

@@
@@After turning monk, Venerable Hai Tao actively preached Buddha's teachings. He not only established Taiwan Life TV airing shows 24 hours a day; but also created many diverse social organizations in different levels of society in order to help the worldly bodhisattvas(people) gradually achieving Bodhisattva-hood. By practicing "sunyata", forbearance, Bodhicitta in the mundane world, the worldly bodhisattva contributed greatly to Master Hai Tao's tasks of spreading Buddhism and helping others.


"The spread Buddha Dharma cannot be postponed." The Compassion Life Organization started a bit late. However, under the guidance of the venerable Hai Tao, it is catching up with amazing speed and bettering itself daily. The venerable Hai Tao's efforts night and day reveals how the Organization has passed on Buddha's wisdom and sense of mission.


To contribute fully with one’s body and life as well as executing Buddha Dharma with joy! Venerable Hai Tao wants to pass on the Buddha Dharma to each and every corner of the world--from Taiwan to places like Mainland China, India, Thailand, the Kingdom of Bhutan, Japan, the U.S.A., the U.K., Malaysia, Singapore and Indonesia and others for the sole purpose of saving more sentient beings.  When we see how Venerable Master Hai Tao ceaselessly propagate Buddha Dharma and profit sentient beings, we shall sincerely praise him.


@Brief introduction of the Venerable Master Hai Tao


@The venerable Hai Tao's secular family name is Huang. A Native of Taipei but born in Kaohsiung in 1958. The venerable Hai Tao graduated from the University of Chinese Culture in 1982.

@In 1991, the venerable Hai Tao visited Huei-Rhi Lecture Hall in Taipei city, and experienced the philosophy of life within the Buddha Dharma. As a result venerable Hai Tao followed Master Fa-Zhen as a layman. Afterwards, the venerable Hai Tao chose to pursue the humanistic path of Buddhism of Master Yin-Shun.

@In 1992, venerable Hai Tao chose to adopt layman's Bodhisattva Vinaya in Tzu-Yun Temple in Nan-Zih District, Kaohsiung City.]Master Liau-Zhong is the monk in charge of conferring the Bodhisattva Vinaya.^C

@In June 1993, in Fu-Yen temple in Hsin-Chu city, venerable Hai Tao was given tonsure by Master Zhen-Hua, who is the master of Venerable Hai Tao's actual master. Venerable Hai Tao then studied under master Ru Hsu.

@In 1994, the venerable Hai Tao received Upasampada from Master Jie-De at Miau-Tong Temple in Liou-Guei District in Kaohsiung City.

@In November 2002, the Master Juei-Guang from Guan-Zhong Temple in Hong Kong mercifully transferred the 47th Dharma-Lineage of Tien-Tai Sect to the venerable Hai Tao.

@In March 2005, the venerable Hai Tao visited Master Wu-Dao in Huei-Rhi Temple of Zen in Yung-Chi, Ning-Po, China and received a Dharma name "Ji-Hai" from Master Wu-Dao.

@In 2008, the venerable Hai Tao agreed to become the abbot of Hong-Fa Buddhist Zen Monastery in Miao-Li, Taiwan.

@In 2009, the venerable Hai Tao agreed to become the abbot of Fa-Wong Temple in Keelung, Taiwan.

@In 2010, the venerable Hai Tao agreed to become the abbot of Wu-Gong Temple in Hen-Chun, Taiwan.

@In 2011, the venerable Hai Tao agreed to become the abbot of Fa-Yhien Temple in Keelung, Taiwan.

@@In the future, the Compassion Life Organization will not only nurture diverse talents for Buddhism and set up internet resources, but also focus on the quality of Life TV film programmes, as requested by venerable Hai Tao. The different branches of Compassion Life Organizations will cooperate with Life TV in order to make better TV programmes for the purpose of preaching life saving. Also, all publications of the Compassion Life Organization will be introduced via the Life TV.

@@The education of Buddha Dharma is not about mere discussion of abstract theories. The Buddha Dharma tells us how to understand the true essence of life; how to respect life; how to treasure life; how to seek the reality of life; how to experience the operation of life; how to explore the potentials in life, and how to apply these theories to our real lives. With joint effort from schools, families, Life TV education and the Buddha Dharma Education, we strive to awake everyone's passion for life and care for society. When the mass learns the value of life, people will grow to respect and cherish all lives.

@@The Compassion Life Organization will continue to work on tasks including but not limited to: delivering free Buddhist books and DVDs, direct preaching on line and on TV, releasing captured life and protecting life; supplying food with compassion; offering lights to Buddha. We hope to purify people's hearts in order to create a harmonic and peaceful Pure Land right here on earth. In the future, the Compassion Life Organization will continue to adhere to Venerable Hai Tao's ideal of protecting life in every corner of society. We will extend our reach to social welfare in places such as hospitals, orphanages, senior care centres, association of the disabled and counseling centres. We wish to help more lives from suffering so they can enjoy true happiness. May the society be peaceful, free from disasters, and happiness to all people!



The present titles of the venerable Hai Tao:

E The chairman of Life Foundation
E The director of Life TV
E The abbot of Hong-Fa Buddhist Zen Monastery in Miao-Li, Taiwan
E The head of various Centers for Buddha's Education
E The chairman of Chung Hua Sutra Printing Association
E The chairman of Chung Hua Love for Life Association
E The chairman of Compassionate Buddhist Music Association
E The chairman of Taiwan dog saving association
E Preacher in Tainan Da-Juei Society (a counseling institute in prison)
E The president of Malaysia Hai Tao Life Foundation
E Honorary Preacher in schools, prisons, jails and Army Ming Te Instruction Squad
E The chairman of Hai Tao Life Foundation in Malaysia
E The chairman of Hai Tao Life Foundation in the U.S.A.
E The principal of Jia-yi Buddhist institute for monk and Miaoli Buddhist institute for nun

「不為自己求安樂,但願眾生得離苦」是海濤法師的理念,更是海濤法師的行為準則。
海濤法師志業創辦人、於1993年出家的海濤法師,因有緣到台北慧日講堂,見到低眉慈顏的佛像及出家人自在的行儀而深入佛法, 在窺得佛法博大精深的人生哲理而皈依了佛教,更因崇仰印順導師人間佛教的理想而發心出家。


  
法師出家後積極地加入佛法推廣的行列,除了創辦「台灣生命電視台」,以24小時不斷地傳播佛法之外,更日夜匪懈地以各種不同的社團組織,運用社會各界力量,逐漸成就了分布在社會各階層、力行空性、忍辱、菩提心的人間菩薩,也為海濤法師的弘化利生工作,增長了助緣。

  「佛法的傳播不能等!」起步稍晚的海濤法師志業,在海濤法師的引領之下,急起直追、日益茁壯。從海濤法師日夜不停的腳步,就能知道海濤法師志業,續佛慧命的使命感。

   盡形壽,抬頭「樂」行!海濤法師為了將佛陀的教育,傳播至世界每一個角落,從台灣到國外,如遊化大陸、印度、泰國、不丹、日本、美國、英國以及馬來西亞、新加坡、印尼....等許多國家,為的就是希望能將佛陀的教法,傳播到更遠、更遠的地區與國家。而大家看到海濤法師,馬不停蹄地弘揚佛法、利益眾生時,都會發出由衷的讚嘆。

    〈海濤法師小檔案〉

   ◆海濤法師,俗姓黃,台北市人,西元1958年出生於高雄市。1982年中國文化大學畢業。

   ◆1991年,法師有緣到台北慧日講堂,有感於佛法博大精深的人生哲理,於 上法下振老和尚座下皈依, 後因崇仰印順導師人間佛教的理想而發心出家。

   ◆1992年,於楠梓慈雲寺受在家菩薩戒 (了中長老為得戒和尚)。

   ◆1993年六月,於新竹福嚴精舍,由其師公 上真下華長老代為剃度,依止 上如下虛長老。

   ◆1994年,於高雄六龜妙通寺,在 上戒下德長老座下受具足戒。

   ◆2002年十一月,蒙香港觀宗寺 上覺下光長老慈悲,授以天台正宗第四十七代法脈。

   ◆2005年三月,法師至大陸禮拜寧波楊歧慧日禪寺 上悟下道大和尚,並賜與法號「智海」。

   ◆2008年接任苗栗弘法禪院住持

   ◆2009年接任基隆法王寺住持

   ◆2010年接任恆春五公寺住持

   ◆2011年接任基隆法嚴寺住持

   展望未來,除了積極培養佛教各種人才以及建立網路資源外,海濤法師特別重視拍攝生命電視台各類節目。各海濤法師志業更將與生命電視台合作,製播更多、更好的生命教育節目,而海濤法師志業所印贈的書籍也將透過電視介紹給大家。

   佛法教育並不是談空論玄,也不是光講道理而已。佛法是告訴我們——知道如何認識生命的真諦,如何尊重生命,珍惜生命和善待生命;知道如何尋找真實的生命,如何體驗生命的運作,如何開發生命的潛能,發揮生命的作用。藉著學校與家庭的努力,再結合生命電視台的生命教育與佛學教育,我們致力於喚起每一個人對生命的熱愛、對社會的關懷,讓社會大眾能夠更加認識生命的價值,進而更加尊重生命、愛惜生命。

   海濤法師志業將持續地,藉由佛書結緣、法音弘化、放生護生、慈悲施食、千燈供佛以及生命電視台的傳播弘法等多管道、多方面持續為社會注入清流,期待能以佛法淨化人心、教育生命、推動心靈改革,與大眾共同創造出一個祥和寧靜的人間淨土。 對於未來,海濤法師志業,仍將秉持海濤師父的弘法悲願,將護生行動更加深入社會的每個角落,將關心生命的觸角延伸至社會基本福利層面。如醫院、孤兒院、老人院、殘障人士協會以及輔導中心,以便能在未來的日子裡能幫助更多的生命,讓更多的生命離苦得樂。願社會祥和,災劫消弭,人民安樂!




  海濤法師現任

    •生命基金會 董事長
    •生命電視台 台長
    •苗栗弘法禪院 住持
    •各地佛陀教育中心.生命教育中心 負責人
    •各地生命道場、生命講堂 負責人
    •中華印經協會 榮譽理事長
    •中華護生協會 榮譽理事長
    •慈悲佛曲傳播協會 理事長
    •台灣救狗協會 理事長
    •懷海教育基金會 董事長
    •台南大覺同心會(獄所輔導機構) 導師
    •馬來西亞海濤生命基金會 董事長

    •美國海濤生命基金會 董事長
    •校園佈教師、多所監獄、看守所榮譽教誨師
    •嘉義男眾生命佛學院.苗栗女眾佛學院 院長
    •生命佛學會 會長